# Coventry City Council Minutes of the Meeting of Council held at Time Not Specified on Thursday, 17 May 2018

Present:

Members: Councillor J Blundell (Chair)

Councillor F Abbott
Councillor N Akhtar
Councillor P Akhtar
Councillor P Akhtar
Councillor R Ali
Councillor A Andrews
Councillor J McNichola

Councillor J McNicholas Councillor R Auluck Councillor C Miks Councillor S Bains Councillor J Mutton Councillor L Bigham Councillor M Mutton Councillor J Birdi Councillor J O'Boyle Councillor R Brown Councillor G Ridley Councillor K Caan Councillor E Ruane Councillor J Clifford Councillor Sandhu Councillor G Crookes Councillor T Sawdon Councillor G Duggins Councillor P Seaman Councillor L Harvard Councillor B Singh Councillor Hetherton Councillor R Singh Councillor D Skinner Councillor J Innes Councillor B Kaur Councillor T Skipper Councillor L Kelly Councillor H Sweet Councillor D Kershaw Councillor K Taylor Councillor T Khan Councillor R Thay Councillor A Khan Councillor S Walsh Councillor D Welsh Councillor R Lakha

Councillor M Lapsa

Councillor R Lancaster

Honorary Alderman: D Batten, S Collins, H Fitzpatrick, J Gazey, M Hammon, K

Councillor G Williams

Mulhall, H Noonan, A Waugh

Apologies: Councillor R Bailey, D Gannon, J Lepoidevin and C Thomas

#### **Public Business**

## 11. Declarations of Interest

There were no declarations of interest.

## 12. Conferring the Title of Honorary Aldermen

The City Council considered a report of the Chief Executive which set out the details of nominations for Honorary Alderman. The following two nominations had been received and were presented for approval:

### (a) Michael Hammon

Michael Hammon was a Member of the City Council for 17 years representing Earlsdon Ward between 1987 and 1996 and then again from 2010 to 2018. During that time, Michael served on a wide range of Committees and Scrutiny Boards. He was Lord Mayor in 2015/16

It was proposed by Councillor Taylor, seconded by Councillor Kershaw, and resolved unanimously that the title of Honorary Alderman be conferred on Michael Hammon as a past member of the Council in recognition of giving eminent services to the Council and the City for at least 15 years, and that a copy of this resolution, under the common seal, be presented to mark the conferment.

The Lord Mayor, on behalf of the City Council, presented Mr. Hammon with a badge and framed certificate to commemorate his appointment and he signed the 'Roll of Honorary Aldermen'. Honorary Alderman Hammon then gave an acceptance speech.

### (b) Kieran Mulhall

Kieran Mulhall was a Member of the City Council for 20 years representing Radford Ward from 1998-2018. During that time, Kieran served on many Committees and Scrutiny Boards and also served as Deputy Chair of Planning Committee. He was Lord Mayor in 2011/12.

It was proposed by Councillor Duggins, seconded by Councillor M Mutton, and resolved unanimously that the title of Honorary Alderman be conferred on Kieran Mulhall as a past member of the Council in recognition of giving eminent services to the Council and the City for at least 15 years, and that a copy of this resolution, under the common seal, be presented to mark the conferment.

The Lord Mayor, on behalf of the City Council, presented Mr. Mulhall with a badge and framed certificate to commemorate his appointment and he signed the 'Roll of Honorary Aldermen'. Honorary Alderman Mulhall then gave an acceptance speech.

(Meeting closed at 12.40 pm)